Posted by: txaggiechick | June 15, 2007

Meeting challenges head on – Bring it on!

Life is truly bringing a lot more complications this week than normal. But I find that I’m dealing much better with them than normal. I can’t really pinpoint anything in particular that has changed but I’m keeping a positive attitude and just working through everything.

Yesterday, BT kept me on hold for an hour and a half keeping me in a holding pattern like the hours I’ve spent circling Heathrow. After that I was then told that my final bill would be 480 pounds. Okay. alright. Sure. whatever. Just get me out of this country. So I give them my forwarding address (and yes I mentioned that my reason for canceling the contract was to move to the US). The guy has the audacity to tell me that he can’t forward my final bill internationally to which I replied with, “well I guess you have a problem.”

My landlady is coming on Wednesday to do the walk through of the apartment. She mentions casually that of course if Samuel James doesn’t find a new renter, that I would be liable for the rent until which time they find a new renter. GREAT.

HSBC and TMobile can’t forward my mail and bill to the business address that I am specifying for accounts I need to remain open when I leave.

My grandfather’s health is failing miserably and I’m exceptionally worried about him.

I spent 2 days in Newcastle and 2 full days in London working my ass off.. So packing and cleaning have taken a backseat like the redheaded stepchild that it is.

It’s going to cost me in excess of 1200 pounds to ship my boxes back to the US.

My taxes still aren’t sorted out. I spent last night trying to figure out an organizer which is a separate application than the calendar which is also different than the tax accountant application that I have to fill out. I am going to have to end up contacting the US IRS and the UK Deloitte again and just sit down until everything is all sorted out. Literally. PAIN IN THE ASS. I am being severely punished for moving. Whipped, beaten and tattered, I keep moving forward.

I took my name out of the running for a new job. They want me to move to CA. I replied with a thank you but no thanks message.

But really. It’s all okay. I can handle all of this. I just put my head up and get to work. Fun hasn’t been had but I will surely compensate for that next weekend… with tequila. LOTS of it. It can get done. It will be all good.

And yes, I have absolutely no idea what kind of car I am going to get when I land. Nor do I have the slightest clue where I am going to live. I’ll figure something out… in time. Wow I wish I weren’t so type A. Bring it on!

My turn to quote some favorite lyrics:

You feel like a candle in a hurricane
Just like a picture with a broken frame
Alone and helpless like you’ve lost your fight
But you’ll be alright, you’ll be alright

Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend ‘til you break
Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand, then you stand

Life’s like a novel with the end ripped out
The edge of canyon with only one way down
Take what you’re given before it’s gone
And start holdin’ on, keep holdin’ on

Every time you get up and get back in the race
One more small piece of you starts to fall into place – yeah

Yeah, then you stand – yeah
Yeah, Baby
WOO HOO, WOO HOO, WOO HOO-
Then you stand – Yeah, Yeah

Responses

  1. When it’s all said and done…the bottom line remains.

    You’re coming home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

