Posted by: txaggiechick | July 16, 2007

You know… it could always be worse…

Today I’m focusing on counting my true blessings. True there will always be things that I want to improve about myself. There are things that I want to achieve and accomplish in life. There will always be that.

But this weekend I remembered that even though things may not always go my way, things could always be worse. I could be completely dependent upon my family for my most basic needs, physically incapable of taking care of myself due to an illness. Or I could have been raised incapable of making even the most basic decision for myself. I could have a lot worse problems than where to live and which job of the many to choose from. So today is a day of blessings.

I’m quite fortunate that even though I have made mistakes my real friends have forgiven me and they continue to stand by me no matter what. I just hope that I continue to work on our friendships and keep them going strong and healthy. I’m extremely fortunate that I have a great family that not only protects me but helps me make decisions while also allowing me the freedom to be myself… especially when I turn out to be someone other than who they want me to be.

I have my health. I have a whole heart worthy of love. I have a good set of friends and enjoy my job. For once, I am just going to stop being so hard on myself and just try to help others. After all, life could be much much worse.

Leave a Reply

Categories

