Posted by: txaggiechick | July 23, 2007

Do you believe in magic?

Okay. I have to admit. I have been severely delinquent in posting lately. I do have the blase work excuse with a topping of being busy with friends and family this weekend and a sprinkling of having no internet at the apartment — a fact I am finding quite to my liking.. no internet. no cable.

But the truth be told. I haven’t posted because, well, I’m a nerd. I freely admit it.  I have spent every free minute, even those stolen while waiting in line at the super market, reading. Falling victim to the Harry Potter hysteria, I’m re-reading the entire suite of novels before starting the Deathly Hollows which was released on Friday at midnight. I was over at Waterloo Ice House watching guys with guitars when I realized that across the street Bookpeople was having a HUGE harry potter celebration. Complete with flame throwers and a dunk the Voldermort booth, Bookpeople was surrounded by at least 1000 people anxiously awaiting the arrival of the last installment of the Harry Potter series. Hell the Austin Symphony showed up playing the theme songs from the movie. Yes. Halloween had come early and wow there are some freaky people in Austin. I wish I had pictures. But it was cool. I found it fascinating that so many people would be thus enthralled. I can’t wait to see the movie (just finished book 5 again so now I can see it at the IMAX). I can’t wait to finish the 6th book and start book 7 even though I have to admit it will be a little bitter sweet. It’s a good thing I am not adverse to re-reading!

Every time I pick up one of these books, I can’t help but imagine myself (well a caricature of myself) carefully interwoven into the plot.  For the Harry Potter series, I’m a beautiful wizened Auror and Sirius Black’s soulmate. While not exactly Harry’s godmother, I always imagine being the love of Sirius’s life. He’s uber sexy. Somehow I wish I could change the outcome of the battle in the department of mysteries! But alas, I’m widowed. 😛 Yes I believe in magic and have a very active imagination. No i haven’t completely lost my senses. Do you believe in magic?

On a more serious note, I’ve realized lately that I have said a lot of things and opened my mouth way too often. I’m way too open and it’s time for me to privatize some things. So that’s something I’m going to concentrate upon. Calvin Coolidge  once said, “I’ve never been hurt by the things I haven’t said”. While I don’t completely agree with this (sins of omission are exceptions), I realize that there are things that should remain unsaid, hidden, and private. I shall start keeping a close watch on the secrets of my own heart and feelings so as to not betray the trust others have placed in me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

