Posted by: txaggiechick | August 10, 2007

I almost died last night…

I don’t want to sound all melodramatic and shit, but I did. I almost died last night. I am a walking cliche. The irony of what I want to say with what everyone says about the dawning realization that at any point, any time, an accident can happen. But the reality is. It DID happen so quickly. In an instant, the lives of the people in the car behind me were altered for the rest of their lives. I’ve frantically searched the internet today to find out what happened to them. Were the hurt? Did anyone die? One instant, they were driving northbound on I35 in Lewisville and the next, they were 15 feet in the air with the hood of the car spraying sparks all over the road.

Shaking and scared, I carefully pulled over to the side to call 911. This is the first time I’ve called 911 in a while. They already had people en route. Needless to say I had another 3 hours to drive to Oklahoma City. I had a lot of time to think. I’m exhausted. But I couldn’t sleep. I couldn’t help thinking. What if it had been me? What if that speed demon had clipped my car instead? Would I be ready? The answer is no.  I don’t think I’ll ever be ready… for a lot of things. Doesn’t mean I’m going to live my life paralized in fear. I’m going to continue to live my life and try to make the best possible decisions for me. I’m going to follow my heart, even though it often leads me astray. There are so many things out of my control that it’s up to me to control the things under my purview. So look out life, cause this journey has just begun.

Leave a Reply

Categories

