Posted by: txaggiechick | October 22, 2007

Friends… or are they?

Walter Winchell is quoted as saying, “A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”

 But then of course, we are also constantly reminded to surround ourselves with people who are respectful, trustful, and loyal. Everything I ever read tells me to surround myself with good, honest people and get rid of the quote-unquote bad friends… But what happens to these bad friends? Do they continue living their lives having not learned from the example that you set for them?

In life, we all struggle with our own set of challenges. I certainly have mine that blow in like a category 5 hurricane. I have a hard time giving up on people, even when I know cognitively I should. Hell they even do everything in their power to get me to give up on them. Yet. I find that I don’t want to give up on them. I refuse to let go. I don’t want them fading into a distant memory even if some of the memories are not all that fond. I always have hope that they’ll come around to just talk to me and tell me what’s really going on. Is that naive? Probably. I am just not sure.

 I know what it’s like to face those demons alone. And I never want someone to have to face that cold, harsh reality alone, feeling abandoned even if it is self-inflicted. So I sit. And I wait. Constantly reminding them that I can be trusted. I care. I can’t just let go and let them fade into the abyss.

Responses

  1. I guess that happens to everyone at some point in their lives.


Leave a Reply

Categories

