Posted by: txaggiechick | April 26, 2008

Surrounded

You know. It’s not very often that I take a look around me to realize I’m surrounded by some really special, talented and great people. Last night was one of those nights where everyone hit me upside the head with the lightening bolt. I had two very good friends of mine take awesome care of me. They said the most amazing things. And I was floored. Flabbergasted. Amazed. Humbled. Okay okay you get the drift. (i started this post on Monday).

One of my most recent friends from South Africa floored me by telling me, “Lindi… you know what your problem is… You don’t know how good you really are.” It only took him grabbing me by the shoulders, staring into my eyes, and yelling it at me a dozen times before I started to believe he was serious. It was quite humbling that this funny, crazy, smart (okay wickedly brilliant), friend would take the time to make me feel great about myself. He’s the best! His better half is amazing and beautiful as well. I’m truly a better person for having them in my life.

Ironically enough… that very same evening. another friend of mine that i met through work told me how much he enjoys my company. In fact he and his awesome wife were the first to befriend me when I moved to Austin 6 years ago. The first week at a new job, they opened their friendship up to me and invited me to Opal Divine’s for a beer. Since then, they’ve been amazing friends, warm, supportive parents and such an inspiration. They’re awesome. It helps that they also love hockey and have inspired me to get into mountain biking (which I did on Wednesday again and had a blast!). I’m really blessed to have them in my life and can’t wait to hang out with them again. Hopefully they’ll let me babysit some more and just hang out. I need to invite them to do something fun. Hopefully they’re going to Orlando for Networkers.

My list of blessings this week keeps going as one of my great friends reminded me how much she means to me. I also got an opportunity to spend a couple of days hanging out with someone that makes me laugh and I have the BEST time just being me. It’s so much fun. Doesn’t hurt that he’s super hot and funny and teases me!

While this week has been super busy and exhausting, it’s great to be surrounded by friends and family that are so caring, supportive and friendly. It just feels great sometimes to be reminded what’s important. And these people are essential! I’m a very lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

Categories

