Posted by: txaggiechick | July 26, 2008

“A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent on arriving.” — Lao Tzu

I know. It’s been a week since I last posted. I’m sure you’re anxiously awaiting another post about the wild tales of travel. I shall not disappoint. I promise. Although this week I don’t have a single story about my missteps. I promise to regale you with tons of stories about my recent vacation in Utah. But for now, let me preface the entire story with, “I Couldn’t ask for anything better”. It was as if God’s little finger sweeped down and cleared away the clutter. I was not expecting to be a changed person or ‘fixed’ upon arriving back in Austin (although it would have been nice to have a fresh perspective and a renewed focus). However I had an amazing trip.

You know there are a few perks to traveling like I choose to do. For example, this girl knows how to pack. I had everything. While my hairs were out of place, I didn’t lack for anything and yet still had plenty of room in the suitcase for newly acquired accessories. To top it off, I didn’t have any security line issues. I also got my free upgrades. While American Airlines does many things wrong and are completely disloyal to their loyal customer, they did eventually upgrade me on both legs of my journey for free. I can’t complain.

I have no complaints about the resort except for the fact that these people are TOO freakishly happy and cheerful. I often felt like the recalcitrant day camper who was playing hokey from the ‘wonderful’ day activities at camp. These people reminded me of the Parent Trap where the two girls were ostracized for their bad behavior but having a great time while camp resumed without them. I chose to take the path less travelled (as is usually the case) by going mountain biking instead of meditation and poolaties? These group classes were filled with some very excentric crazy women who then spent their entire dinner conversation talking about the quality of their classes. I was very glad that I had packed well with over 20 books to keep me well occupied to retreat into the solace that I needed. I did feel like the rebel with a cause. it was quite liberating. I’m sure all of these eccentric women are very nice and good human beings but I just couldn’t bring myself to make new friends and influence new people this week and it was GLORIOUS. Although, I will get to TabascoMan in a bit. He was quite delicious… well in theory.

DId I mention that i NEEDED vacation? it wasn’t something that I really wanted to do alone. it certainly wasn’t something that I had planned to hurt people in my life by ‘abandoning’ them. But it was something that i NEEDED to get some time and space for myself. And quite frankly I feel that I’m a much better sister, daughter, coworker, friend, and girl for it. So forgive me for taking off without you but you’ll get over it. That’s about it for now. Just know I”M BACK… and Lord help me, but I’m scarier than ever.

Responses

  1. i love Laos,
    Laos is one of the poorest and least visited countries in the world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

