Posted by: txaggiechick | July 29, 2008

work, work go away… come again another day

I rarely if ever discuss work on my blog. Mostly because I do everything in my power not to think about work when I leave. Okay who are we kidding. Everyone who knows me, knows that I rarely if ever don’t think about work, even at rest. But what I learned on my recent vacation is that if I take a week off, work still gets done and I’m not missed. It is a really great feeling. It’s awesome realizing that there is a whole world out there to be explored… to be experienced… where you’re not defined by “what have you done for me lately”… where you’re allowed to be creative, fun, have a life, and really enjoy just being yourself.

It is this realization that has allowed me to realize that I have GOT to invest in myself. I’ve got to stick up for myself and do everything in my power to get into a place and world that I really like. I want to like me. I want to enjoy being who I am. And more importantly I want to feel as though I actually do something with this life I’ve been given. I know you are probably tired of me hearing of me talk about 3 doors down but their latest album ‘speaks to me’ for lack of a better term. Somewhere I did lose myself along the way. Little by little I’ve given up on myself. that is the most isolating and lonely feeling in the world. I used to be this person that was sarcastic (okay not the best quality but I loved that about me), smart, witty, funny, independent, nonchalant, and most of all I wasn’t this arrogant, know it all bitch that I’ve become. How did I lose sight of that kickass girl who flaunted her flaws and just really enjoyed life and all of its crazy little quirks it had to offer? Granted I’m probably the worst judge of self perception but I certanly seem to have lost pieces of me somewhere else.

I just finished reading “Remember Me?” and “Can you keep a Secret?” by Sophia Kinsella. To PittsburghBelle, she refers to them as lollipop books. While they are certainly easy reads, the best thing about them is their centralized theme. Each lead character is a quirky, English girl who comes to find her true self. One learns that a single decision three years prior causes her to go down a path that warps her so badly she doesn’t know who she is anymore, literally. Well granted she gets amnesia and the whole story is about her rediscovering that amazing, funny, and kind friend girl that she used to be. The other discovers that being truly honest with someone and most importantly with herself is her most valuable asset. There are two significant lessons to be learned there. Ones that I needed to hear at exactly the right time I was actually ready to listen to them. I listend. Look out world. Some changes are coming around the bend and you better keep all hands and feet inside the carriage at all times.

What’s funny is that I also read the investment book, Rich Dad, Poor Dad. The first story in the book discusses Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken. It was actually a good reminder, being the precocious, independant that I have always been… So for your reading pleasure.

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same, 10
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back. 15
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 20
Responses

  1. wats is that you want to do… that will make you feel your life is worthy …. jus curious 😉

  2. I’m going to write a book! And Dance! And be a good friend

  3. yeah m looking fwd to that book…..must be a real adventurous one …. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

