Posted by: txaggiechick | November 22, 2008

For the love of the game.

Okay. I admit it. I’m a sap. Now now before you get all bent out of shape, let me explain. I’m not a sap in your traditional sense of candlelight and roses. Nope. I don’t do the soft romantic candlelight and jazz music. Puhlease.I think we’ve already established I’m much more of a jeans and t-shirt kinda girl that enjoys a cold beer more than caviar and rose petals. But I”m such a sap for good sports stories. I cry like a baby at the movie Rudy when he’s getting to play in the last play and make the tackle. Brings tears to a girls eyes. *sniff* And no I can’t believe I’m admitting this. But it’s true.

This weekend I canceled all of my plans to be selfish and regain a little peace or piece of serenity, cause I need a break! And tonight, instead of watching any number of great movies, I’m putting together some great desserts for Thanksgiving and watching the Texas Tech v. Oklahoma football game and listening to the Stars play. This is my ideal night. I know I’m a nut but I’m fascinated by the game. Where else in the world can you get 22 men pitted against one another for the ultimate glory of athletic domination? The game is the best test for grit, determination, loyality, teamwork, and sheer athletism in the world. Now that’s hot. You’re probably thinking to yourself, ‘woah this girl can romantize anything, can’t she?’. Yep you’re right. I probably could. First it’s pirates. Then it’s vampires. And today, I’m all about the athlete. Real men rock my socks… well they would if I was wearing socks.

Did I mention I’m also a sucker for the underdog? At least this year I’m leveraging that love for the underdog for my Stars. Tonight is fascinating as I am wondering how the guys are going to respond to Morrow’s ACL injury. Losing a key champion and leader like him can really shake up the team. I’m hoping that new leadership and determination to win will rise to the top and attempt to fill such a large vacancy left. We’ll see. For all of the challenges that they’re facing this year, it’s fascinating to see them move, react, and keep coming back stronger than ever. I haven’t seen it thus far, but that’s why I love the underdog. There’s something sexy about overcoming all of the odds to be successful!

I guess it says something too about my beloved Aggies. I haven’t given up on them. Not yet. Okay not ever. We still have to play Texas. It promises to be a good Thanksgiving game. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about the Aggies, it’s that you should never underestimate them. They’ll only surprise you. McGee is by far one of the most determined leaders I’ve seen. He’s got the heart to pull them through even though their athleticism is lacking. It’s always amazed me just how much mental acuity and attitude affect performance on the field. I guess that’s why I love the game so much. I’m fascinated to see who’s going to show up and who’s going to put up! It’s the best reality series on the planet. You never know just what’s going to unfold before your vary eyes. Who’s going to show up and dominate the field of play? Who is going to slink home cowering like dogs? Will they be able to overcome the challenges? Emotions run high. This is why I love the game. You never know exactly what’s going to happen. That’s why we play the game.

Now if only my night culminated with a strappingly handsome man knocking down my door with a cold 6-pack. And fade to black…. Ahhh a girl can dream can’t she šŸ™‚ Oh well. I’ll get back to being the domestic goddess that I am. My whole apartment smells like spices and pumpkin… hmm. Tasty! You know cause girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice! (see Santa… I can be a good girl!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

