Posted by: txaggiechick | November 23, 2008

Who says change isn’t possible?

I know I’m writing a lot about changes. Changes in my attitude. Changes in my direction in life. This blog is afterall well about ME 🙂 (so selfish aren’t I… gee) And as proof of that yesterday I did something that just 6 months ago I probably wouldn’t have even considered. Okay I would have said a lot about it. I would have complained to my friends but I wouldn’t have actually ACTED upon it. Nope. That was because I was too scared to let anyone down when in fact I wasn’t taking 100% responsibility for my choices and in the process letting myself down.

So who says change isn’t possible? For those that really know me, you’ll realize how off the wall this is. For those of you who in real life understand my quirks, my inability to do anything half-assed (and by anything.. I mean anything), and my habit of overextending myself for my work, friends, and family to where there’s very little to nothing left of me, you will realize how crazy this sounds. (Talk about one really big run-on sentence. Freshman English teacher would chastise me til next Sunday). But I’m taking December off of work. The whole month. Well pretty much. Starting Dec 14, I’m on holiday. For 3 weeks, I’m going to take off and embrace the other side of life. I’m going to be fearless in pursuit of my Round is Not a Shape program. I’m going to finish the book I’ve been writing. And I’m going to Dance like nobody’s watching. I’ll be checking emails occasionally. Afterall, it’ll be the end of the quarter and I’m waiting for my 10 week assignment in Germany. But I’m hoping that by taking time off of work, I can really have time for me as well as spend time during the holidays with those who truly love and respect me. And those whom I truly love, adore, appreciate. To my friends and family that consistently make me a better person, it’s time I spend time with YOU!

I’m not saying my journey is done. I’m not even remotely close to finished. Afterall I can’t get rid of all of my determined, tenacious, driven tendencies. I just need to focus them in a more positive way. But I’m certainly not making excuses any more and making time for me. It’s an exciting new road I’m on. It’s one that I don’t understand. I don’t have a map. There’s no google maps where I’m going. But isn’t that the exciting part? It’s scary and challenging. And I can’t wait! I’ve got a dream. And I can’t share all parts of it with you. But it’s still a fun adventure! Come along for the ride!

A few quotes from inspiration peak:

Your work is to discover your world
and then with all your heart give yourself to it.

Buddha

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The trouble-makers. The round heads in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status-quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them. But the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

Jack Kerouac

NOTE: I don’t want to change the world. But I do want to make it a better place for children like baby H and bring out the best in everyone, including me!

It takes as much stress to be a success as it does to be a failure. ~ Emilio James Trujillo

Now back to our regularly scheduled weekend filled with sugar, spice and everything nice.

Responses

  1. Fabulous quotes! Have lots of fun on your vacation. And in Germany too! If you find wines with funny names, could you please take a photo and send it to me?

  2. Absolutely. Funny name. Serious wine 🙂

  3. How wonderful that you are taking time off for YOU!!! Can’t wait to read what you do! I would love to be able to see you while we are both off from work!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

