Posted by: txaggiechick | November 24, 2008

A case of the Mondays.

You know. Today. I thought I had a case of the Mondays. Really. It didn’t start out really well at all. But for some reason I just kept on going and it ended up getting moderately better. Okay. So today ended up totally rocking my socks (yes I know. I’m not wearing socks but you get the point) ! But I’m not going to brag too much.

Today started out by me fish-flopping myself out of bed (yes I have to literally do that to get myself out of bed in time to get to yoga class). I arrive at yoga class to find that my teacher has slept in (apparently someone doesn’t understand the subtle nuances of the fish – flop). So I head back to my apartment. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. And hit the gym. Kill two birds with one stone, I think to myself as I grab the garbage and begin to walk toward the apartment gym. Then of course it starts to rain. And I’m not talking a few drip drops. No. It started to pour. Thankfully it only lasted a few minutes… just enough time to get me soaking wet. But I persevered. I went to the gym and got in a workout since I was already drenched anyway.

There’s several people at work who are expressing their disappointment in a lot of decisions being made. And yes, because I am the sucker that I am, I listen and I try to help fix or at least assuage the feelings of discontent. I think we’re making progress though! really!

Then I got the call. Yes. The call. I’ve been waiting for this call since last Thursday. My sister-in-law was in labor and by 2pm this afternoon I was officially an aunt. So I headed out to visit my new niece, who i must admit is perfect in every way. Yes I’m totally biased. But she is cute and has the perfect Metallica t-shirt to prove it. Paybacks are heck! Of course on the way to the hospital, a car accident happened in front of me. Being the good sammartain that I am, I pulled over and ensured that the EMS tended to the passenger who hit the median and flew across four lanes of traffic. Thankfully no one was seriously injured.

On my way back, I got the call that I need to now get in gear and rearrange my schedule for tomorrow for  a meeting. Yippeee. I love those days. So you can see where originally I thought I was going to have a case of the Mondays. But then i realized. I’m totally blessed and someone is really looking out for me. First, baby and mom are doing really well and everything is going great there. Thank God for that. Then while an accident happened in front of me, a car ricocheted  off a median and flew across four lanes of traffic only to have no one be harmed. Miracle 2. And miracle 3, it’s a short week and I get to just relax. I’m really looking forward to it. So all in all. It was a great day to be alive and I’m sincerely thankful for the joy and amazing wonder of the world. (cue: It’s a wonderful world here) It was pretty kick ass. Welcome to the rollercoaster world miss baby H. it’s going to be some fun times!

And because I can’t seem to resist closing with a quote: Invictus by William Ernest Henley. I just love the unconquerable soul piece.

OUT of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.
In the fell clutch of circumstance 5
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade, 10
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.
It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate: 15
I am the captain of my soul.
Leave a Reply

Categories

