Posted by: txaggiechick | December 20, 2008

Spontaneity

My sincerest apologies fellow bloggers for not posting more often. As you well know, I’m on holiday for 3 weeks. And honestly I thought I would be at a loss of what to do with my time when I wasn’t spending the time working my ass off.You see I have a teensy weensy little problem with associating my identity with my work/career. So when I take the time off, I figured I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. Apparently though, I’m finding that there’s a whole lot of me under the hood of this car than I expected. And guess what? There are some wicked cool friends out there to have fun with!

Ironically enough, I’m busier this week than I have been whilst working. Funny how that works out huh? I also conducted a slight experiment where I didn’t really make any plans. That’s right folks. You heard it here first. I spent most of my week entirely busy but without some real plans and timelines. So un-me, I know! And you know what, it was great.

For normal metalchick, I’m a type A person. But this week, I let all of that go and just kinda floated around the state at will. It’s been an amazing rollercoaster experience. It’s also afforded me the opportunity to hang out with and meet up with people that I care the most about. While I didn’t get to see EVERYONE on my list, I was able to really enjoy the time I spent with the friends I did get to see. Plus, you know what was even greater? I got to honestly enjoy that time without having to rush off to be somewhere else. I got to watch hockey, had Chinese-takeout under a winter advisory, wrapped christmas presents and made out Christmas cards while watching a Christmas movie, wined and dined with friends. (talk about a run-on sentence but you see how much I was able to accomplish). It was fabulous week. I had a great time. I’m heading off to a movie now. This whole not making plans but allowing me to really get spontaneous with new opportunities coming my way every few minutes is really fun. I like being flexible, bendy, spontaneous…

So while the weather outside might be frightful, I’m keeping it warm and comforting inside. Who knows what tomorrow is going to bring but I’m really enjoying the freedom and the time off to explore me without the work identity. Hopefully Santa will see what an improvement I’ve made and even though I was still really really naughty, I don’t get more coal and switches. My halo just needs a little more adjustments. I’ll work on that I promise!

If you were given the afternoon off to do whatever you wanted? Just what would you fill your day with?

Responses

  1. Glad that you posted and having a fun vacation.

    If I had an afternoon off, I’d hop on a plane and go shopping in Paris and then dinner with Brad Pitt.

    Hey I can dream… can’t I?

  2. I’d go hunting and run my dogs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

