Posted by: txaggiechick | January 21, 2009

The Road less travelled…

You know. It’s funny. I was thinking today about travel and subsequently being in the same city for more than 3 days at a time. I realized that I love to travel because it forces me to get out and try new things. It’s usually all about the experience. It’s that whole when in Rome thing, I think. But here recently I’ve realized that this traveller mentality applies to much more than just living and working on the road. It applies to my attitude toward living and working in a single location. You see American Airlines called me. Were they calling to chit chat? nope but they certainly did call to tell me how much they missed me. No worries. I assured them that I would soon be their favorite passenger ever as I return to the friendly skies.

But I did get to thinking. What keeps me from exploring the town in which I live? The answer I got wasn’t a pleasant one. It was the dreaded routine. So I resolved to expand my reach and change my attitude and it’s been a very rewarding experience! I met a man yesterday who is an avid hiker. We talked for an hour about the HUT system and his hiking travels in Austin. He even clued me into some great locations to go for hikes when I need an opportunity to disappear from work for an hour. Shhh. Don’t tell anyone! It’s kind of nice to discover a whole new world in the town you live in.

In other news, for the most part everyone has been super supportive of my new resolutions. I had a few glasses of wine this week and I’m sure at the party Friday night I’ll have one or two. But everyone is really excited about the achievements I’ve made thus far. I even have some new friends who are going to keep me active and motivated by joining our adventure racing team and training together. I even have road warrior training partners in every metropolitan city! Still working on the EMEA ones but alas I’m not worried. Even though I’ll be spending the next 6 to 9 months in Europe, I have a whole range of new things to try over there. I assure you that the last thing I’ll be is bored.

Okay! I’m off to the Flying Saucer… maybe there will be aliens or something. hehehe. Kidding. but there will certainly be friends and maybe if we’re lucky me dancing on tables! Hugs!

Responses

  1. You going to Europe for months? Can I come with you?

    Looking forward to seeing you dance on the table on Friday:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

