Posted by: txaggiechick | March 16, 2009

Living a life one can be proud of…

There’s a lot of pressure in the world today either self-imposed or just unconsciously imposed by the lifestyles of people around me. Maybe it’s just my perception but there’s a lot of people who continue to judge the success or failure of women based on their relationships with the opposite sex, getting married, and having kids. I mean heck. Take a look at the blogs around the world and you’ll see that the vast majority of women talk about their relationships (failed or sucessful… needless to say the victimized failures tend to attract the most viewers in hopes that women everywhere can either commiserate or glean useful knowledge from them). If you pay any attention to the mass media, you’ll see women-targeted shows are about men, relationships, family, and friends. And if I were to pay attention to my friends, (which I do learn some very valuable lessons from) the 80/20 rule suggests that 80% of the time the girls talk about the men who’ve lost them, the men who love them, and the men they have yet to meet. (Or their kids if they have them).

I’ll be the first to admit that one day I would love to get married and have kids. I’m not knocking that. Not one slight bit. It’s a great thing. But it’s not for me. Not right this minute. So I’m tired of having the same conversation day in and day out. I’m really loving my life right now. I’m living a life I can be proud of, without fear of judgement from anyone else. I’m really happy living my life right now for me and nobody else. So I promise you that I’ll let ya know if I start dating someone seriously. But otherwise, I’m just having fun! And I’m not gonna fall into the traps that I hear from so many women…nobody but me is responsible for my happiness. And no weight determines how happy I am. I’m happy at this moment just being me and enjoy that beautiful smile that gazes back at me in the mirror. So carpe diem! Dance like nobody’s watchin.

In this journey, it’s about the moment. It’s about living the moment that takes your breath away. And I’m blessed to have a few of those a day. Just gotta be payin attention. Perhaps I should sleep more often huh? Instead of being up at all hours.

 

To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and to endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded. 

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

Categories

