Posted by: txaggiechick | March 16, 2009

Thoughts on Travel

I am by no means the most travelled individual I’ve ever met. In fact I recently had an opportunity to talk to someone who is far wiser, more wordly than anyone else I’ve met in a long time. I listend for hours as he spoke of the times he spent exploring India and his aspirations to see the world with his kiddos. It was a great night. So I’m learning that no matter where I go, I’ve been bitten by the travel bug. It’s an insatiable desire to learn and see more of the world. To truly experience alternative worlds. It’s fascinating.

The funny thing I’m learning about the more I travel is to not have any pre-conceived notions about the people or the worlds in which I’m travelling to. It’s a very hard thing to do and I’m no where near good enough at it yet. But to truly experience it, you gotta be open to the idea. Falling victim to a bunch of stereotypes is not going to allow me to truly enjoy the experience. And you know what, the more people I meet, the more they too have a preconceived notion about people from America… specifically Texas. This trip they were surprised to learn I was very adept at using chopsticks and had a common knowledge of the history of Singapore (thank you wikipedia… and lonelyplanet. ).

Other than that. It’s essential to not really have a plan. I’m super type A. I have a tendancy to plan…plan..plan. So when I travel I decided not to have a plan. At least the parts I have control around. It’s helped me to be open to the travel experience. This trip to Singapore, I got to experience  Little India, Raffles Hotel, walked along the sea and Orchard Road. I met some wonderful people both professionally and just hanging out at the bar/restaraunts/walking around. I’ll write more later for shizzle but for now I’m gonna try to get some sleep. It was a great little trip! (oh and I did some new discovery of London too… it goes to show, even places you’ve been before can reveal new secrets)

Responses

  1. Can’t wait to hear more stories about your travels:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

