Posted by: txaggiechick | October 25, 2009

Speaking in Tongues

We’re both speaking English. At least I think we are. But it’s as if we’re speaking entirely different languages. I’ve had this feeling a lot lately. Most recently I have been working with a travel writing community on several articles. And it feels like there’s some unstated rule or uncommunicated deadlines that are not expressed. One would assume that journalists and communications majors are effective communicators but I’m often finding myself unawares. As if I’m not asking the right questions or blindsided by their expectations. It’s like I’m learning a whole new language and one that I will master.

In other news, the A/C man finally came out to replace the motor. A whole month and a few days without A/C due to even more miscommunications and failures to communicate. After being stood up by him 4 times. He finally comes out to tell me he needs to order a part. It took 3 weeks to get the part he needed and of course I tried to make arrangements with him to see if he needed me to leave a check and access to the house for a friend since I was in Europe for a few weeks. He never responded. Then he calls while I’m gone. So I called me back to schedule a time and he tells me he returned the part because he couldn’t get ahold of me even after I told him 7 times I was in Europe BEFORE I left. For some reason there are days when I just think it’s me that is crazy and everyone else is sane. It’s like we’re all speaking in tongues.

Leave a Reply

Categories

