Posted by: txaggiechick | May 31, 2011

15 Minutes to Live

I just signed up for a 30 Day writing challenge where I’m given a prompt to write about and have to post it on a blog somewhere. So here’s the prompt:

“We are afraid of truth, afraid of fortune, afraid of death, and afraid of each other. Our age yields no great and perfect persons.”  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.

1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.

2. Write the story that has to be written.

 

~~~~~~~

If I truly discovered I had 15 minute to live, I likely wouldn’t be writing down the story that has to be told. But I’ll tell it anyway.

The truth is, I’m not ready to die. And yet I’m so bored with the life I lead. My priorities in order are my family, my job, my God, my friends, and somewhere way down the list is me. I’m not even sure I’m on that list sometimes. I’ve spent my life working and helping others because it makes me feel useful. I’m not ready to die because I’m not sure I’ve lived. Yes. I have been successful at work. Mostly because I put in more hours than others and learning is my particular talent. I would say that I have a better relationship with my family than in years past. But that’s because I’ve grown and changed. I’m an entirely different person that I was even 3 months ago. I still have a lot to live for.

But I would say this to those who care. Truth is hard. And the startling truth that becomes apparent when you’re about to die is that you don’t want to. I’m not done yet. I’ve still got my music still in me and I have got to live to get it out. Life were it to end today would be tragically cut short. Short of my potential. I would fall drastically below the yellow line and that’s not the way I want to go out. It’s the result of the people who wait for life to happen to them. Those who wait for some prince charming or other fantastical event or creature to happen in their life inspiring change. I’ve got that in me today. Just don’t wait for life to begin. For it never will.

Leave a Reply

Categories

